Note about JYJ Thanksgiving Live in Dome

 

.

.

Few thoughts after watching JYJ Thanksgiving Live in Dome DVD

.

.

1. I love the DVD package. Everything was done neatly.

.

.

2. I should buy a mini-home theatre later

.

When people uploaded JYJ concert clip on Youtube, sound quality are worse…a lot worse than in the DVD. Go for the DVD before judge their voices quality or better attend their concert lol. When I watched their performance in youtube…I was irritated with the sound quality but it turned out to be great in DVD.

.

.
3. Yoochun balanced JaeSu power very well. Obviously, he was and is the wild-card for this unit. Without him, we could have had JaeSu overload and oversing some songs and maybe the whole concert wouldn’t have had this much flavor.

.

I don’t like his hairstyle but his charm + rap just overpower everything!

.

Overlook Chungrish….this guy definitely a good rapper. He nailed it in “Shelter” and also “Been So Long”.

.

.
4. I think Jaejoong’s voice is thinner than before but his voice controlling in this concert was so much better than ever. He has a potential to be a rock singer. How he could manage to switch the voice channel is simply amazing. From sweet sound to rock…he is super versatile in voice department.

.

However, I was shocked with his rockish voice in Rainy Blue… (Just like I used to shock when he changed to rock voice in his highest note of Tonight in Mirotic Concert at BKK.)
Sometimes it’s easier to sing high using that channel for him but it’s not proper in that song – –

.

(Out of context:::I was bitter with a comment in SYC which was already deleted by admin. Someone said that JJ was seen as actor. He’s not good enough in singing to be recognized as a good singer…I really want to throw this concert DVD to that girl! Listen to this girl and dare tell me that he’s not a good singer…well he’s not good…he’s GREAT!)

.

.
5. I love love love Junsu’s “Kanashimi no Yukoe”. I don’t really like his vibrato in studio version. (I think he overuse it in the beginning of the song.) However, in this live, everything was perfect. I played this song in repeat today.

.

Junsu is too good to be true. He just nailed every solo on his own sake. That man can amaze the whole dome by himself. In the slow song, he just stood there and sang…made everyone hold their breath. (I found myself hold my breath in many songs for this concert.) In his dance songs, nothing but great…even though 10 dancers were there…his aura just shone more and more and kept your eyes on him only.
.

.

6. Believe it or not, they began the concert with 5 slow/mid-slow tempo songs! I felt as if I was sent to the dark hole, especially from “Shelter”…But I’m sure that I can listen to those slow beat songs for the entire concert if they would manage to sing this good.

.

Seriously, what differentiate these guys from other idol or singers in the same age is their interpretation of each song. Their dynamic and emotion in each song is set them apart from the other group.
.

.

.

.

7. I can tell you that the editor of this DVD missed some part and camera angle which I really hoped that they could be included in this DVD. (Jaejoong sad smile in For You, JaeChun twin singing in Shelter, Junsu pose in one of their gag, etc.) However, I also think the editor did a good job. TBH…everything for this is very good.

.

.

8. Does anyone realize how many genre we have from 18 songs? This is one of the most variety concert ever. Each song is very long…still lots of talk session. I think they sang 2/3 and talk about 1/3.

.

.

9. Sadly they cut the part that showing Sunao Ni Narenakute clip out. JJ was cute and embarassed when they showed it that day.

.

.

10. Another thing missing from this DVD…At the end of “Long Way”, when three of them gathered together, the clip on the screen was showing three hands putting together…something like the back cover of their mini-album. That was a very strong sign to move on as three. (At least for me…surprisingly, I don’t see any fanaccount mentioned about that.)

.

.

11. Last part after W…totally break my heart.  

When they walked to each sub-stages to thank all fans. Somehow I got the vibe that they don’t know whether they could come back for another concert there again.

.

.

Thanks that they didn’t use the same angle as big screen on the concert day. (The one that zoom JJ’s face when he cried.)

.

12. This concert is not perfect. I can hear some missing notes here and there. Some songs could even be sung better…TBH…they didn’t even have enough song to sing. (My friend jokingly said that those 4 new songs are composed because they don’t have enough song for the concert….and that’s undeniable.)

.

But this is one of the most emotional perfect…the entire concert…the meaning of each song…the emotional they put in each words. Yet…they brought themselves to another level. No flashy costume, no fancy opening clip, no stunning special effect on stage, still they managed to connect to everyone. We felt and feel everything they want us to feel…happiness, fun, love, sadness, worried, etc…

Full of emotion and passion.

.

.

13. Now…Junsu/Jejung/Yuchun are too good to be in one group. You can see it clearly that they have grown a lot more. I even asked myself how they could manage to sing together. You can see the different colors of their song, their style. Their individual uniqueness is so obvious, yet their team power is so beautiful.

.

I still think that they sang differently style in “I have nothing”; using their own style; Yoochun-R&B, Junsu-powerful divo, Jaejoong-slight rock. Yet, they still managed to sound good if not great. Love their harmonization at the end of Colors “in…love” … definitely “in…” with 3 voices is beautiful but they failed at “…love” XD.

.

You simply see that those three talent guys want to be together.
.

.
…Perhaps that’s why they are still together. ❤

.

.

P.S. It broke my heart when I watched Backstage Movie and saw the staff brought those black board with fans writing in the waiting room and JS, JJ, YC read them. I hope they didn’t read all of that because I have no idea how they would feel with some quotes like “5-2=0”.

Sometimes, I feel as if now it’s fans who lock all 5 of them in two rooms without any doors. Somehow I feel as if the hope that they would come back as 5 also means you cannot let them grow. By that, I don’t mean that fans do not support their individual or sub-unit. But whatever JYJ or Yunho or Changmin do, there are always fans who said you want the old five gods of east back. No matter how beautiful they sing, as solo, duo, trio…people keep mentioning that they cannot be better than DBSK. I don’t know how much depress that could be for each members…cannot break through their own shadow. It’s like a ghost that would haunt them forever.

My heart hurt so deeply when I knew that Yunho saw a signate written as “5-1=0” at SM Town in LA. He looked at that signate and his expression slipped away from normal, also yesterday, with “W” and Midhoyo at Shanghai SM Town. Even though I’m JYJ bias, I don’t want anyone of them being overshadow by their own past. That’s why I don’t think it’s healthy for any fans or members to keep hoping and locking themselves with hope too.

.

.

This entry was posted in JYJ and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Note about JYJ Thanksgiving Live in Dome

  1. liebdbsk says:

    check your blog is now my daily routine. I have the feeling that you understand their music very well. I feel the same but I cannot express.
    Many singers sing the same songs, for example “I have nothing”, but I love JYJ version the most, I dont know why. Although English is not their native language, but emotion anf passion they put in the song are so good
    Today, I am really butthurt, some comments in chatbox in DBSKnights make me feel sorry for JYJ. Some fans even said she/he will buy 3 CDs when Homin release album, but she/he never listen to JYJ songs. And those people blame some fans who said SM is bad. I cannot understand how can they think on that way.
    Can I ask you a private question? Can you speak German? I saw your comment in SYC, you wrote in German.
    Reading your post make me feel better.

    • reallaerreal says:

      Ja, ich kann ein bischen Deutsch sprechen. ^^ Ich habe schon fast alles vergessen aber ich kann noch lesen. Sie koennen auch Deutsch heir schreiben. I would love that but maybe I still have to reply you in English because German is my third language and I don’t have much chance to use it in the past 4 years…I will try to brush up my german >.<

      I'm in love with them because they are so interesting, musical vise. Although I don’t know whether I understand their music well but I try.
      I love their version of "I Have Nothing", as I wrote, not perfect singing but perfect emotion.

      *hug* we all have moments of butthurt. I would never understand those fans too. At the end, people would support the one they like anyway…I wouldn't bother any of HoMin stan to change their mind. Sometimes people just tried to find the excuse for their own action. – –

      Glad that my post can make you feel better ^^

      • liebdbsk says:

        Ja, Ich habe auch viel Deutsch Woerter vergessen. Ich studierte in Deutschland etwa 4 Jahren. Aber es war schon 3 Jahren seit ich war nach meinen Land zurueckgekehrt.
        Ich glaube, vielleicht wir sind gleiche Generation. hehe

      • reallaerreal says:

        @liebdbsk

        Ah…vielleicht! Ich bleibte in Wien nur 6 Monaten in 2006. ^^

        (Jetzt ist mein Grammatik sehr schlimm. – -)

    • ..... says:

      omg, then you also stay there yesterday? i m the one who answer that DUH, normally, i did not chat there, just lurking around, but yest i feel somewhat angry with those girl. saying they angry with fans who mad at SM and actually say that : that SM CEO is right about DBSK not having a hard time in Japan? i really want to $@$#$^%$#% her

      • liebdbsk says:

        Yes, I did.
        Yesterday, I really want to protect your opinion, but I just recognized that those people did not even want to listen to what other said and we probably could not change their mind, so that I lelf.

      • reallaerreal says:

        Ah…is she/he really a DBSK fan? O_________o

        I mean even the most Yunho/Changmin bias fan wouldn’t think like that.

        ##&^%$(&*^&#&%$^#

  2. Secret Syrup says:

    man I need to brush up on my German (I won’t lol!). Learned it for a year and forgot mostly everything D: The German language is sexy lol.

    your post made me smile…until I saw what you wrote when you edited it. I cannot believe that people do things like that 5-1=0 in public; that shit ain’t cute. Why the fuck are they there then? It basically means that you’re nothing if one member is missing (unless it was meant to be hurtful) which is totally unfair for the members. I don’t approve of Homin calling themselves TVXQ (and I think it’ll be hard on them if they go on with that name) but people shouldn’t do shit like that. I feel like kicking these fans in the head; either support them as Homin/JYJ or don’t.

    also I feel the 2nd hand embarrassement for yunho when he saw the Yunjae banners. that had to be awkward -_-

    “cannot break through their own shadow. It’s like a ghost that would haunt them forever”
    weee, that reminds me of Cannot Escape my Faith from the Mozart OST.

    “Someone said that JJ was seen as actor. He’s not good enough in singing to be recognized as a good singer…”
    LOL. So now acting as a side character in a jdrama, a movie and acting in a PV outshines everything he did in 6 years as a singer. So much beautiful bullshit to explain who is the better singer (because it was probably in that thread about Junsu being number one in that poll right?). Oh this fandom.

    I remember being worried about what they’ll sing considering the fact that they weren’t going to sing THSK songs but I was pleasantly surprised that everything seemed to work well and that they chose different types of songs that made us go through different emotions. And it looked simple. I like my things simple 🙂

    Also, I want my DVD 😦

    • reallaerreal says:

      Hahaha…I insist that I need to brush up on my German. I still understand most of Mozart original lyric but can’t speak or write that fluently anymore. ^^”
      (Yup…that “cannot break through their own shadow was inspired from “Wie wird man seinen Shatten los? lol.)

      Maybe I shouldn’t add the P.S. in this post. I intended to write a light and bright post because most of my post here were my own bitter lol but I have to let this post somewhere…

      I hope people won’t do that for JYJ…especially when they would promote in asia next month.

      Yes, that post was in that thread lol. It’s a part of this fandom…a sick part. – –

      It’s funny that they even sang Tokyo Lovelight! I don’t even remember that that song has any proper lyric before. lol. One thing I really love this concert is that finally, I get to see their solo, duo, trio song. I don’t think they would sing “Shelter” or “Kanashimi no Yukoe” live if not because this concert.

      Ah…hope you get your DVD soon. Please tell me what you think after watching the whole DVD if you have time. ^^

  3. OzGreenGirl says:

    I love your blog!!!
    Come to say “I read it all and agree with every words. LOL”

    After watched this DVD, I’m proud with JUNSU/JEJUNG/YUCHUN. These three boys are really really great. I love them and always support their works from now on.

    Avex done a good job on this DVD, although, I feel a bit regret that they don’t put the concert digest from the 1st day in Osaka that fully emotion from three boys. (Maybe it will break my heart but I want to share their sorrow.) And I really want “been so long feat. Verbal”, too. BTW, The DVD quality is better than watch through clip and youtube I can hear some notes that I never captured when I watched it through clips and youtube.

    Can’t wait for my copy. Next week I’ll get it, I hope. >.<
    (I've just realized my DVD player cannot play zone 2 DVD, I have to buy my new one. T^T)

    2. I should buy a mini-home theatre later
    PLEASEEEEEE BUY it!! I’m begging you. lol

    • reallaerreal says:

      LOL! You’re lazy girl!

      I want Been So Long feat. Verbal too. My dear sister who is YC bias keeps saying JJ was so good that night. (Like I wasn’t there. Well, I was there but JJ is always great for me lol.)

      Now you should buy the new DVD player….and I should buy a mini-home theatre…lol.

  4. ash says:

    I constantly find myself nodding to everything you write. 🙂

    “You simply see that those three talent guys want to be together.”

    THIS. After everything, they could have decided to go solo and focus on their solo careers.. but no, they wanted to stick together. I love that.

    I can not comprehend why so many people don’t disapprove of JJ/JS/YC working together. From observation, it’s okay if they want to go solo or even as a duo, but the moment they announce a project as a trio? I see nothing but endless bitching and moaning.

    I’m so over the 5-2/3 = 0 fail math. It’s like they hold no real value if they’re not together as five.

    This is one of the most emotional concert I’ve seen in recent memory. ‘I have nothing’ left me awestrucked. My mom loved their performance too! Who cares about not-so-perfect pronunciations if you can pull off such a passionate and emotional performance like that?

    • ash says:

      typo! correction: people disapprove*

    • reallaerreal says:

      People said that this unit seemed permanent and they don’t like the idea of forming another group to replace DBSK. I can understand some part but not all. I mean…DBSK is a good memory…Nothing, nobody, no other unit-group could ever replace that. I still love “Love in the Ice” but I also love “W”.

      This is the new memory that would create by 3 people to their fans, new song that would be sung by 3hree Voices. I won’t forget how good 5 voices could harmonize but I also love the harmonize of 3hree Voices. I don’t want to compare with their past because this is something new that people should learn to appreciate.

      It’s like they hold no real value if they’re not together as five.
      This is exactly the point! They have their own value.

      Wow, your mom loved their performance too. Cool! I would love to watch them with my mom. Anyway, she has never complained when I opened their songs in my car. ^^

  5. greenwood says:

    hi, i am a new follower of your blog ^^, and i really enjoy your writing. i am still waiting for my thanksgiving live dvd, and reading what you wrote on the missing parts, how i wish they could be shown.

    • reallaerreal says:

      hi!

      Thanks for following this blog.

      Please drop some comment about the concert if you have time. I would love to know whether you love it like I do. ^^

      • greenwood says:

        sure i will ^^, not sure when mine will reach, but really looking forward to receive it.
        of the uploaded youtube vids from the dvd, i tried not to watch them until i receive the dvd lol, but couldn’t resist to watch 3 vids; Colors, Shelter and For You. Colors has always been a favourite, i love the interaction between the two and you could really feel love from the song. Shelter gives a fresh, totally different kind of feeling, love its music, and yes yoochun is a good rapper. and For You, love jaejoong singing in korean, actually in any songs lol, agree with you that he’s a great singer.

Leave a Reply

