The hardest part of the ending is starting again.

I’m actually pretty scared about JYJ new album.

Seems like many fans hope that they would get the music that they are quite familiar.
But what I get from their statement in their official website, I don’t think this album would be the case.

.
Let me say something about trying new things.

.

.

I have observed and obsessed about a band for 10 years now. They used to be adored and praised by nu-metal fans with their 1st and 2nd albums. When they changed their music style in 3rd album, many fans complaint about that. But I always know that their music is about experiment, just like what they did with their 1.5 album “Reannimation” in which they rearranged their own song in the 1st album. I really love that album because it showed how creative these guys can be in their own music.

.

They just released their 4th album a few weeks ago. Seems like they are being heavily bashed for trying their new style.

.

In case you don’t know Linkin Park, here is a song from their 1st album.

In the End


.

And here is a song from their latest album…

Waiting For the End


.

I saw many comments about their new album. Some said they are not the real Linkin Park anymore. However, I’m glad that they are also fans who understand that Linkin Park is not about Nu-metal or any kind of specific genre. They are about experiment.
I love what they wrote in their CDs cover.

.
“We were not making an album.
.
For months, we’d been destroying and rebuilding our band. The experiments that resulted filled the studio hard drive with diverse, abstract sounds. Amorphous echoes, cacophonous samples, and handmade staccato merged into wandering, elusive melody. Each track felt like a hallucination.
.
We didn’t know if any of those unorthodox ideas could be incorporated into a traditional album, but we knew we didn’t want our next album to be predictable. Sitting together in the same studio where we made our first album, all six of us voiced a commitment to going out on a limb, to making something truly daring. We asked ourselves: were we all earnestly willing, more than ever before, to abandon the precepts of commercial ambition in pursuit of what we believe to be honest art?
.
The inclination to begin writing conventional songs for a conventional album came and went. The temptation to adjust our creative vision to fulfill expectations beyond our studio walls yielded to the audacious ambition of what he hoped to achieve as a band. The two years of making A Thousand Suns marked our exhilarating, surrealistic, and often challenging journey into the creative unknown.
.
On the eve of its completion, this body of work, assembled through unconscious inspiration and unmitigated exertion, has revealed to us notions both stirring and surprising. The imagery personified herein is neither dogma nor political premeditation. The emergent themes and metaphors illuminate a uniquely human story.
.
Oppenheimer’s words resonate today not only for their historical significance, but for their emotional gravity. So, too, A Thousand Suns grapples with the personal cycle of pride, destruction, and regret. In life, like in dreams, this sequence is not always linear. And, sometimes, true remorse penetrates the devastating cycle. The hope, of course, springs from the notion that the possibility of change is born in our most harrowing moments.
.
Enjoy the music.
.
.
Linkin Park”

.

I really hope I enjoy JYJ album no matter which genre they putting on. Also hoping someday, I would see a credit in their album similar to this.
.

“All songs written by Linkin Park”
.

Am I hoping too much?

This entry was posted in JYJ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The hardest part of the ending is starting again.

  1. greenwood says:

    I shared the same sentiments as you… scared+worried…as the date of the album release comes nearer.

    I’m going to their showcase in my country next week, and after knowing that it’s an English album with style different from DBSK/THSK, I’m damn worried as I’m bringing along a non-fan to accompany me.

    My wish… I hope their new music is ‘acceptable’ (lower expectations first!). And I really want their music and their singing to leave a good impression on my companion.

    • reallaerreal says:

      Oh you are goint to the showcase too! Hope we are having a good time. I will go to the showcase in Thailand this Friday too. 🙂

      One thing I’m quite sure is that their voices are good if not great. So I hope your companion would like their voice >.<

  2. grannyestee says:

    Somehow I think that their music won’t be the one that I like the most, coz it’s produced by American songwriters and composer, so I guess it will be too “Americanish”… while I’m so into Brit-music. I might not luv all of their music… but I still have hopes that some of the songs will still be nicely heard by me. I put my hopes on the trio’s own composition. Most of Chun’s works are ballads or light-&-nice melody like “Kiss the baby sky” and “Colors” which I kinda like, Su’s probably will have another “Intoxication” which I kinda like too though not my most faves, and Jae likes to write ballads but maybe he’ll surprise us since he listens to various kinda music… so it could be somekind like “9095” or maybe he’s into hip-hop… dunno, but… whatever the music is I hope that fans will still support them like I will! If I don’t like the songs so much coz too many hip-hops in there… maybe I’ll just hand it to my hubby and he surely will like it coz he’s into this genre *grin* I remember the “Mirotic” time, I’m so into their Tohoshinki’s songs (esp. ballads) and found that this newest Korean album of them had too many dance pieces… yet I still luv them 🙂 A “blind-fan” I am, eh?

    Maybe their music is kinda “nowadays” music (*grin* dunno how to put it in engrish) or it’s kinda in the today’s mainstream of music… so they will gain new listeners… new fans… Some fans may be disappointed, and some of the disappoint ones will still support them plus that they gain new fans… it will still make them “survive”

    It’s not the music that I’m worried a lot… it’s other factors…
    – the engrish… I just hope that they had intensive english course, so the articulation is (quite) good
    – the stylist… I just hope that they know how to present this trio with the image that can be accepted by “worldwide” audiences… not too much, but still can get their attention
    – the management or people works in this project… I just hope that they are professional enough *sigh* What’s happened these days just makes me worried more, such as their preview vid with wrong spellings, the push-back of the release date of the album, how the PR “needs” fans to make letters to major shows in US to gain more attention about this trio. I hope there will be no more of this kinda thing…

    Aaaahhh, let’s just wait and see what we will get from them…
    and let’s just pray that everything will turn out well… very well indeed (amen) 🙂

  3. Jennifer says:

    1. I get what you mean about fans getting upset when their band change their style of music. For example: 30 seconds to mars. Their 1st album was unique and people like it for it. Their 2nd was different but still rock BUT their 3rd was…wow whole lot different and some people were pissed as hell! I didn’t LOVE it but I didn’t hate it either…it was okay. So when it comes to JYJ…im okay if its different. Hell i live in the USA so if it sounds Americanized thats cool. Also, people have to remember that change is good (well sometimes).

Leave a Reply

